Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Limited Science Time

General Science and Teaching

Limited Science Time

Author Post
Mara Herning Mara Herning 740 Points

I am a preservice teacher and have been doing observations within public schools. These schools do not have Science as a separate subject, but as a part of Reading. For example they are doing a unit on the human body but it is all about reading and writing. I have read that the push for test scores has pushed curriculum such as I have described. What can we do as teachers to basically sneak Science in?

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

You bring up such a good point, Mara! You asked, 'I have read that the push for test scores has pushed curriculum such as I have described. What can we do as teachers to basically sneak Science in?'
The New Common Core Literacy Standards for Science should help. Also, we can be proactive and share all the exciting curricular materials already available to teach literacy skills (reading, writing, mathematics, vocabulary, etc.) using science content as the vehicle. For example, FOSS has a great Human Body kit that makes learning about the body engaging and integrates vocabulary, reading, writing literacy strategies throughout.
What are others' thoughts on this?
Carolyn

Ann Allison Cooke Allison Cooke 6550 Points