Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / How to increase student creativity in Science?

Elementary Science

How to increase student creativity in Science?

Author Post
Cole Longo Cole Longo 315 Points

Hi everyone,

How can we bring/ influence more creativity into the classroom when teaching elementary Science? And should we encourage or discourage technology to aid in creativity in the classroom?

Josie Asklund Josie Asklund 2755 Points

Hello! I'm Josie and I'm a preservice teacher at the University of Northern Iowa. During my time as an emerging educator, I took a class called Arts Integration, which focused on bringing the arts into content driven lessons to boost creativity and learning! Our content focus was science, specifically focusing on ecology and keeping our planet healthy and clean. I co-taught in a group to 1st grade students, and one of our lessons we did was centered around the 3R's. We showed the students a fun video that we discussed, we let the students explore items they might have at home or in school that can be recylced like juice containers, newspaper, and pop cans. After we did this we used some of the items that we brought to 'reuse' to make puppets of fish, since the students said that a lot of our trash ends up in the ocean and it affects the fish and turtles living there. The students were very engaged in this lesson because they were able to explore and create something of their own. We even used the puppets and performed a small Reader's Theater about the importance of recycling! Using the arts, even as just an engaging start to your lesson, can really make a difference in your content lessons. 

Ashley Canny Ashley Canny 1480 Points