Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Elementary Astronomy

Earth and Space Science

Elementary Astronomy

Author Post
Danielle Campbell Danielle Campbell 200 Points

Hi everyone! I am a preservice teacher and my favorite science topic is space. Astronomy can be difficult for elementary students to grasp because it is only seen in pictures. Are there any good articles or journals I can look into on how to implement astronomy in elementary classrooms? I feel this is important because students have many misconceptions about space. Thank you!

Megan Doty Megan Doty 11847 Points

Hi Danielle,

Sandy Gady created a collection titled Astronomy Elementary Collection that might be helpful. It includes journal articles, podcasts and an archived Web Seminar - check it out:

http://learningcenter.nsta.org/mylibrary/collection.aspx?id=VZu3zATIYC8_E

Astrid Rivarola also created a collection titled Astronomy in Elementary Collection that includes journal articles and a couple of Science Objects. You can find it here:

http://learningcenter.nsta.org/mylibrary/collection.aspx?id=18zESynxOlw_E

Take a look through these resources and let us know if they help!

-Megan

Sydney McCain Sydney McCain 985 Points

Hi Danielle! I am an Elem Ed student and in a workshop for one of my classes we did this really neat experiment that shows how far the distance is between the planets. Using toilet paper and markers we made a scale model of the Solar System with the Sun being the edge of the toilet paper and then moving outwards for each planet. If you want your students to see the shape of the solar system as well, you could take them outside and do this on a larger scale designating different objects or even students as each planet. To go even further you could have them move as the Solar System does. I hope this is helpful and not super confusing. Good luck!

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Check out NASA Wavelength: http://nasawavelength.org/