Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Short Attention Span

Early Childhood

Short Attention Span

Author Post
Lawrence Herrera Lawrence Herrera 180 Points

Hello, new teacher here, I find that older students have a better attention span than the younger ones. I have tried many things to get the younger students attention to a lesson, I mean I have tried "attention grabbers" at the start of a lesson to rewards for paying attention with little success. As soon as I get to the lesson or "explain" part, I only get like 1-minute attention, then they lose it, and I have to redirect their attention back to me, its a constant battle. I am looking for some strategies or methods to help me keep the little ones' attention. Thank you!

Melanie Biddinger Melanie Biddinger 495 Points

Hi Lawrence,

I am a preservice teacher, and based on my own personal experiences/observations and what I have learned throughout my coursework, your statement that younger students have a shorter attention span is very accurate.  Therefore, how teachers educate older students will be different from the way they educate younger ones.  

Firstly, I feel that your current “attention grabber” opening is a great way to begin any lesson.   You want your students to get excited about the topic because without this initial excitement, students will not feel motivated to continue on with the lesson.  I feel that it is effective to start a lesson by invoking a sense of mystery, so maybe you could hide objects that you are going to be talking about in your hand or under a blanket/bag or you could also start the lesson with a riddle.