Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Hands on Learning

Early Childhood

Hands on Learning

Author Post
Anita Johnson Anita Johnson 45 Points

Hello I am a graduate student at Xavier University and I was wondering what kinds of science activities or projects you all like to do that involve hands on learning for kids in grades K-3?  

Michelle Tensing Michelle Tensing 30 Points

Hi Anita,

I love to have the students garden.  We have also done some pretty cool science experiments this year.  I teach preschool and kindergarten so some of my ideas might be a little young for your students, but we often have things out on the shelf like magnetic vs. non magnetic, having the children test weather something sinks or floats.  With these activities I always introduce the ideas of a hypothesis and observation.  Last summer I made 'lava' lamps with the students with water, vegetable oil, food coloring, and alka seltzer tablets.  They had a blast! 

Michelle Biddinger Michelle Biddinger 405 Points

Hello Ms. Johnson,

I am a preservice teacher who is working on my graduate degree in early childhood education.  I am currently taking a science course that focusses on how to teach this subject to students.