Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Learning about Rocks

Elementary Science

Learning about Rocks

Author Post
Rebecca Yeager Rebecca Yeager 180 Points

I am a preservice teacher studying to teach grades K-6. I remember in elementary school one of least exciting units was learning about rocks. What are fun tools/resources/lessons I can use to make learning about the different types of rocks and the rock cycle fun for students? I want to make sure my future students enjoy all units of science!

Flavio Mendez Flavio Mendez 52501 Points

Hi Rebecca,

Welcome to Rock Day (https://common.nsta.org/resource/?id=10.2505/4/sc04_041_04_40) is another article you should cehck out for ideas for the classroom.

Take care,

Flavio.

Jeff Torrance Jeff Torrance 560 Points

For a rock/earth unit I did a study on sand and where sand featured in the rock cycle. I had to collect different types of sand from different places (I am an international teacher so my kids collect it when they go on holidays to all sorts of exotic destinations). Get some basic microscopes (hand held with built in light and uv light) and get the kids to catalogue what they find. Simple red sand from the gobi desert is mostly clear with elements of red ochre rocks. Beach sand contains shells, animal skeletons and other cool stuff. Some lake sand I had once contained a couple of fossilised shells embedded in a grain of sand. Sand from a forest has lots of leaf detritus and maybe a bug or two. What then happens to the sand and where does it come from? How old is the sand? these are all questions you can ask to grab attention. Also using the little handheld microscopes is a lot of fun just going around the room looking at things. Then when we go outside with them POW!!! minds blown.

Tabitha Rosamond Tabitha Rosamond 2073 Points

Hello Rebecca!