Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Preschool Experiments

Early Childhood

Preschool Experiments

Author Post
Danielle Phillips Danielle Phillips 105 Points

I am currently a teacher at a preschool, and I would love some ideas for safe experiments that I can easily do in my classroom! I work with two and three year olds, and they love getting messy!

Jody Grandier jody grandier 1600 Points

Doing doing experiments with young children can be so fun.  I work at a daycare and we do activities that I would consider experiments often.  Yesterday we put tubs of water in the middle of a table and gave each kid a cup of water color paint.  In the 1st tub we mixed blue and green, 2nd tub red and orange and 3rd tube all colors.  This was showing what colors mixed make.  We have also made play dough and other cool stuff founded on Pinterest.  These include; gal, gloop, slime, rainbow soap foam, and kinetic sand.  The last great idea I'll mention is magnetic slime.  Not only did the kids enjoy making it we then got to play and experiment with magnets.  Hope these helped and make sure you check out Pinterest for great ideas!!!!!

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Jody-- You used the phrase "activities that I would consider experiments." Right on! One of my pet peeves is when people use the word "experiment" for any and all activities or demonstrations in science class. Not everything students do in science is a true experiment, and other types of investigations or observations are just as important. Thanks for helping students understand this! Mary B

Michelle Alban Michelle Alban 3095 Points