Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Resources for Teaching Reaction Types

Chemistry

Resources for Teaching Reaction Types

Author Post
Kevin Hueston Kevin Hueston 80 Points

Hi, I am a graduate student working on my Masters and teaching license in Biology and Chemistry. In my class in which I am student teaching we are about to introduce chemical reactions. It will include single and double replacements, combustion reactions, and synthesis reactions. First I was wondering if anyone had any good resources such as books or websites that would be good for labs or even just engaging short demos that would be entertaining as well as informative. Also I was wondering if anyone knew of some other good activities besides for straight experiments that anyone has used that have worked well for explaining the concepts in the types of reactions. Thanks!

Pamela Auburn Pamela Auburn 68625 Points

This may help

Attachments

Rebecca Falin Rebecca Falin 71530 Points

Here is a set of demonstrations I had my students prep and perform for their class during our chemical reactions unit last year (and a link to my chemical reactions collection of links & resources).

Chemistry - Chemical Reactions Collection (25 items)
- User Uploaded Resource
- User Uploaded Resource
- User Uploaded Resource
Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

There are a series of free chemical reactions Science Objects in the Learning Center. Just do a simple search for "Chemical Reactions" and they will all pop up. I am attaching a couple of examples. Good luck.

Chris Leverington Chris Leverington 4035 Points

I just created this to use in my review from last semester. They have to determine the reaction type based on the reactants and then match the products to the reactants. I figure this is a different realm of learning (kinesthetic maybe) than just listening to me go through the reaction types. If any one wants to comment or give advice on how to improve activity. I'm doing it on Friday!

Attachments