Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Science Lessons for Inclusion Students

Evaluation and Assessment

Science Lessons for Inclusion Students

Author Post
Edith Flores Edith Flores 1360 Points

This year I volunteered to take all of the eighth grade SPED students in my science classes. A good portion of them can do the work but I have a few that were placed in my room just for the exposure. I am looking for some simple activities to do with these students. Any ideas or links would be greatly appreciated.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Here are two more articles, Edith.
Making Science Accessible
and
Tech Trek: Technologies for special needs students
My Best!
Carolyn

Jennifer Perry Jennifer Perry 2250 Points

I am a sped teacher, just beginning to learn how to teach science. I get many ideas from my regular ed colleagues. I would say that just about any lab activity is a great learning experience that allows sped students to construct and test their ideas. We just completed the egg drop, and amazingly, about 90% or more of their eggs survived first a two story drop and then a 3 story drop (same egg, same container). I also make them measure, calculate volume, record a data table of paddings, predict what will happen, and then write the results. There were some truly ingenious paddings in those little boxes like bread, water, and one was cut so the egg was wedged into the cardboard with no other padding. I think my next lab will be the tragedy of the commons so that we can discuss use of the ocean's resources, fisheries, international water trade agreements. This is a fun activity with cooperative learning, and food. I have to say the math part of science is definitely the hardest for my students.

Dawn Nishimoto 3015 Points