Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Science and Social Studies Integration

Early Childhood

Science and Social Studies Integration

Author Post
Lillian Estrada Lillian Estrada 170 Points

Hello everyone,
I am a student at UHD in Houston, TX and I will be graduating May 2020 with my bachelor’s in education. I have a question about integrating science and social studies using a regular book for example, The Rainbow Fish. I used this book to teach about the life cycle of a fish and for social studies I was planning on teaching the students about being a good citizen. Do you all think this can be done using a book such as The Rainbow Fish, or would it be better to use a science book and not a picture book? Also, what is the best way to teach a first grader about being a good citizen and having them understand the concept?

Thank you in advance!

Brianda Garcia Brianda Garcia 155 Points

Hello Lillian,

Hello Lillian,

I love this book! I think that is such a great idea to use this book to teach kids about the importance of being a good ciizen. I think that this book can help the students learn in a fun way, because perhaps if you had a regular book with no pictures the students would not be able to have any type of connection making it difficult for them to understand. After reading this book to the students you could have the students write  a compliment to some one special they know. By writing a compliment to someone they know they could be brighting someone's day. Awesome idea thank you I will use this in the future.

Erica FUENTES Erica FUENTES 105 Points

Hi Lillian,