Forums

Forums / Chemistry / virtual labs vs. actual labs

Chemistry

virtual labs vs. actual labs

Author Post

Are the benefits of virtual labs the same as actually doing the experiment in person? Students seem to have more fun doing an experiment than just watching one through a screen, but with limited resources virtual labs are better. 

Hunter Gerhardt Hunter Gerhardt 615 Points

Stephanie,

I am a student at Wartburg College finishing up my Elementary Education degree. As somebody who has gone through virtual chemistry and biology labs when we were sent home during COVID, I do see the benefits of being able to go through a lab virtually. If a student misses that day or if they want to go back and do the lab again, they will have the opportunity to do so with a virtual lab. I also think that virtual labs can allow students to do labs that would be too dangerous for them in person. Overall, doing experiments and labs in person will be a better experience for the students and be more memorable for them, but having access to virtual labs as a backup is very beneficial. 

Lily Aulwes Lily Aulwes 735 Points