Forums

Forums / STEM / Hands-on STEM Lesson or Activity Ideas for 2nd Grade

STEM

Hands-on STEM Lesson or Activity Ideas for 2nd Grade

Author Post
Angela M Angela Magnelli 840 Points

Hello! I'm a preservice teacher and junior-year college student majoring in elementary education. I'm currently taking my science methods course and looking for ideas on creating a hands-on STEM lesson for 2nd graders. The lesson/activity should focus on density and/or concepts of buoyancy. Any suggestions or ideas for engaging STEM lessons on the above topic would be greatly appreciated!

Brandon Redina Brandon Redina 1465 Points

Hi Angela,

I love teaching about ideas of buoyancy, a great idea that I have always found fun is the classic project in which students are asked to construct a boat out of tin foil, and their boats can be compared in a competition determining how many pennies their boat can hold. Heres a great video I found on the project, keep up the great working in your teaching journey.

https://youtu.be/TMZ4keSdCK8

Valeria Garcia Valeria Garcia 855 Points

Hi Angela! Creating a STEM lesson for second graders focusing on buoyancy there definitely needs to be something that had to do with water. I would challenge students ton create sail boats. They would need an array of materials, and have to use a certain number of the items =, but theyb have to have a sail. Then the challenge is to see how far they can travel in 3 blows from an individual student. Another STEM activity can be having students build boats thst have to carry a certain amout of weight. Same like the sail boats, there can be an array of materials like cardboad, styrofoam, tin foil and straws. I hope this helps!

Angela M Angela Magnelli 840 Points