Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Living and Nonliving things

Elementary Science

Living and Nonliving things

Author Post
Michelle Rodriguez Michelle Rodriguez 710 Points

I am currently creating a lesson plan on living and nonliving things where the students must be able to understand that living things need food, water and air. What would be a fun activity to do with this first grade class?

Sandra Lundy Sandra Lundy 1605 Points

I am a student teacher and I have taught this lesson in my cooperating teacher's classroom. I figured out that they pretty much know what living and non-living things are, they just need help identifying what makes them living and non-living. I chose to do an activity where they are comparing the two with the specific attributes. Activities: Recording sheet with sorting cards. After introducing what makes something living and non-living, have the students (in groups?) sort what they have just figured out on a recording sheet with some sort of T-Chart on it. Collage T-Chart. Have the students search through magazines and cut out pictures of living and non-living things and place them on construction paper that is folded in half with some sort of labeling. These are just a few activities you may could use with your kindergartners. I hope this helps.

Kathy Renfrew Kathleen Renfrew 37148 Points