Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Summer Time for Professional Learning

Elementary Science

Summer Time for Professional Learning

Author Post
Kathy Renfrew Kathy Renfrew 37148 Points

As an elementary teacher I was trained as a generalist. So I am always looking for ways to improve my conceptual knowledge about different areas of science. What about you? I highly recommend the Sci Packs to help in this area. I made a list of the standards where I needed to develop a deeper understanding and found the SciPAck that would work. SciPacks are manageable in terms of time, location, etc. I do not need to go anywhere. I can work on my own learning in the comfort of my home. I am currently working on the Sci Pack Interdependence of Life. What are you doing for your professional learning this summer? Kathy

Kendra Young Kendra Young 17180 Points

Hi Kathy, I'm returning to middle school next year, but I'm also turning to SciPacks to refresh my content knowledge before hitting the classroom. I love that they cover exactly what I need and that I can access them any time. Perfect for a busy summer on the go! Kendra

Maureen Stover Maureen Stover 41070 Points

The SciPacks are fantastic resources for professional development. NSTA also offers a variety of online courses. The online courses are a fantastic way to increase content knowledge.

Maureen

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

NSTA has many online PD opportunities. See the NSTA Learning Center for a description of these. I also like the Science Objects, which are 2-hour modules (free) on content topics. A nice way to spend an evening!

Jennifer Rahn Jennifer Rahn 67955 Points