Forums

Forums / Informal Science / Ecouraging parents to support science learning outside of the classroom

Informal Science

Ecouraging parents to support science learning outside of the classroom

Author Post
Sarah Pack Sarah Pack 254 Points

I find that many students struggle with science because it is difficult and also they have no one to turn at home when they struggle with science. As a teacher, I can only help them so much, but if they are studying at home or completeing homework, most parents aren't fluent enough in science to help. What are some ways that I can encourge parents to participate in science activities with their children? 

Camillia Ledbetter Camillia Ledbetter 960 Points

Sarah,

It might be interesting to challenge students to teach the content at home! Have the students create some sort of teaching component (diagram, sketchnotes, worksheet) and challenge them to teach the content to a family member. After all, teaching is one of the best learning tools. Then, maybe they could take it a step further with a science activity at home.

Sidney Baumgartner Sidney Baumgartner 335 Points