Forums

Forums / Life Science / Researched Based Class

Life Science

Researched Based Class

Author Post
David Blackburn David Blackburn 70 Points

I am a second year teacher at a small high school with no curriculum for any life science class. I have developed a biology curriculum, but I am having problems with the "identity" of my advanced biology class (not an AP biology). I want to continue onto what they learned in Biology, but I only have about a semester worth of topics to cover in the advanced class. My thoughts were to teach that semesters worth of material, and then have more a researched based 2nd semester. Anyone have any other ideas? Thanks!

April Wallace April Cartwright 1320 Points

I like your idea of using the 2nd semester for research projects. You could allow students to develop their own individualized projects focusing on the topics you have previously covered or delving into things you haven't done in detail. From my experience this would require quite a bit of structure - specific expectations and deadlines for their project work. At the end of the semester students could have quite alot of work in a portfolio. You could also use this time to focus in on current issues in biology - reading whats in the news, researching those issues further, developing scientific arguments about those issues, etc.

Mary Ann Ng Mary Ann Ng 3385 Points

That's great that you can develop your own curriculum. Your question reminded me of this inspiring video on secondary science in Finland. https://www.teachingchannel.org/videos/high-performance-in-science

Lynn Yamada Lynn Yamada 3020 Points