Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Erosion/weathering and it's effect on our water systems lab idea

General Science and Teaching

Erosion/weathering and it's effect on our water systems lab idea

Author Post
Mitchell Miho Mitchell Miho 3090 Points

I am a first year teacher and as we are going over our rock and rock cycle unit, we will be discussing erosion. My wife found a great idea on a website that suggested that we build three models using bottles that have been cut in half from the lip to the base. It is done this way to allow the water to be able to run-off and give the students a full visual of how erosion works and the run=off that occurs under different circumstances by being able to catch and observe the run-off. You would then fill each bottle with dirt. In each of the three bottles you would simulate a different type of scenario; in bottle one you would have the dirt and plant some sort of widespread and fast rooting plant in order to show the effects of erosion on well vegetated areas. Next you would have a bottle with dirt and some type of garbage that is easily broken up, like toilet paper, which i believe will break up in small particles as you water it over time. This would simulate a heavily polluted area. Finally, you would have a bottle with just dirt. I am very excited to try this since it allows the students to visually see the effects that vegetation has on erosion, which directly effects the water around us. Because we live in Hawaii, this lab is a great idea to actually get students to see how our actions have a direct effect on the environment around us. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas on how to improve this idea? I know that the students may get a bit impatient as they wait for the plant simulation to grow and finally root itself into the dirt. I would also appreciate any ideas for the pollution simulation (any chemicals you think we could pour onto all of them that the vegetation simulation would catch and filter