Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Classroom Management and Safety

General Science and Teaching

Classroom Management and Safety

Author Post
Christine Matthews Christine Matthews 435 Points

What are some ways that you manage hands-on activities with your students? What systems do you use when assigning groups and jobs to students when doing an activity? I am currently a student, and this semester I managed assigning student jobs using a checklist telling which students have already performed which jobs. We used the getter, recorder, reporter, and consultant, and each student wore a job card reminding them of their job. What other ways have you assigned jobs? Also, what are some ways that you remind the students of safety procedures? Do you have visuals around your room reminding the students of safety procedures? 

Brianna Powell Brianna Powell 425 Points

I like how the students have certain jobs, but I would use posters to remind them about safety.

Kimiko Torres Kimiko Torres 565 Points

Hello Christine, 

I think safety is paramount when doing hands-on activities with children, which I am sure you are aware of. I think assigning jobs is great way to teach students about responsibility. I think I may steal the job card clip-on idea for my future classroom! Like another responder said below, visual aids of some sort would be useful in reminding not only the students of their jobs but the teacher also because many of us will have about ten different thoughts going at once. Maybe letting the students choose their jobs in the early days of the school year could engage them more so. As for safety rules, it is definitely important to go over them with the students and, if doing many hands-on activities during the year, a poster hanging the class would be a great reminder of safety protocols. Going over it with the students before more complex hands-on activities would be good too. Great questions!

Francesca Mandriotti Francesca Mandriotti 5260 Points