Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / New Teacher Requesting Advice on Elective Science Class

General Science and Teaching

New Teacher Requesting Advice on Elective Science Class

Author Post
James Lee James Lee 10 Points

Hello Everybody, My name is James Lee, a long-time NSTA member and a first-time poster at the Community Forums. I'm a new science teacher at City Polytechnic High School in Brooklyn, NY. This is also my first year of full-time teaching at the high school level. This semester, I teach four preps of a class called "Physical Science Research." This is a new class that City Poly is trying out for the first time. From what I can glean off the Principal's vision of that class, it's the class to kindle student interest in the sciences. Towards the end of the trimester, the students should be better prepared to take on the coursework of Regents-level (New York State Exam) Chemistry class. There are no textbooks or department-wide curriculum in place for this class. Material resources are hard to come by in general and I'll most likely have to front it out-of-pocket. However I choose to handle this class is my call. Regarding my student population: City Poly admits students unscreened and thus, there is a very wide range of academic abilities. While student behavior is a generally on the rowdy side, I found that the vast majority of my students does seem to have some interest in the sciences and I feel that if I do things right, I have a fair shot at drawing most of them in. --- I understand that this kind of freedom and relative lack of pressure is rare as far as teaching at a New York City high school goes. But at the same time, I can't help but feel that I'm wasting this great "carte blanche" opportunity because I just don't have much ideas in my repertoire to hold exciting, meaningful activities, lessons, projects, etc. With that, I would love to hear from you folks on your ideas on how best to approach this class. My tentative idea is to s