Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Classroom Management During Activites

Early Childhood

Classroom Management During Activites

Author Post
Tamar Devorah Tamar Devorah 399 Points

Hi, I am a pre-service teacher and I was wondering what classroom management skills I can use when the students are engaging in very active activities? I want them to be able to have fun and be fully enagaged but, I am worried that it may go out of hand or become too rambunctious. Any advice?

Patricia Owenby Patricia Owenby 1180 Points

Tamar, 

Since you are planning more than 1 activity it is always helpful if you can divide into smaller groups and have one adult available for each activiyt. If that is not possible you can always have yourself, the teacher, and then one independent activity. Just make sure the activity is something that can be done independently and some students may finish before others so make sure they can have something to do if they do.  Make sure you give clear directions for each activity and in the past I have given out rewards to those students that are following directions and participating. By finding activities that are engaging the students will be interested and will be more involved in the lesson.

Patricia Owenby Patricia Owenby 1180 Points

Lauren Wolbers Lauren Wolbers 1920 Points

Hi Tamar,