Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / How do Professional Development Hours Work?

Professional Learning

How do Professional Development Hours Work?

Author Post
Ethan Ake-Little, Ph.D. Ethan Ake 105 Points

Hello, I apologize if this has been posted before. I am new to the NSTA Learning Center and I have found it an amazing place to develop my professional development goals and a rich resource for ideas/concepts to implement in my classroom. As a new teacher, I'm not sure how the whole professional development hours idea works. In Pennsylvania, we are required to have 180 PD hours over a period of five years in order to maintain certification. I currently teach on an Intern Certificate and will be receiving my Instructional I in May 2013. This leads me to ask several questions (and this might be an area where Pennsylvania teachers might be able to help me out): 1. Does my 180 PD hour requirement begin once I receive my Instructional I (or am I essentially "on the clock" now on my Intern Certificate)? 2. If my requirement does begin when I recieve my Instructional I, do my accumulated PD hours in 2012-2013 carry over? 3. Do I receive PD hours for SciPacks? or do I only receive PD hours for NSTA Web Seminars and attending the NSTA National Conference? 4. I am also part of the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy. Does this program qualify as a state approved induction program? I apologize for the lengthy post, but I figured that this would be the best community to ask this questions (and probably the best way I could solicit a consensus of answers). Thanks again for reading and thanks for the reply.

Al Byers Albert Byers 4498 Points