Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Teaching Lab Safety to Students

General Science and Teaching

Teaching Lab Safety to Students

Author Post
Elizabeth Steele Elizabeth Steele 445 Points

Hello! 

My name is Lizzy and I am a preservice teacher in Maryland. I am looking for fun and creative ways to teach students about lab safety. Have you ever used a fun video, song, or interactive activity of some kind to teach lab rules and safe practices to students? I would love to hear about it! Thank you!

Lizzy Steele 

Sharon Low Sharon Low 696 Points

Hi Lizzy! 

Here's a fun video I found on Youtube that teaches basic lab safety through a fun song. I think this would be great for elementary or early middle school students. You can also do a matching worksheet where you have one column of situations and then another column with the safety procedures. Then the students match the correct safety procedure to the accident. Acting out the different scenarios and what to do would help too. Hope this helps!

Lab Safety Vid - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsAHt0FiwNM&pbjreload=10

Michelle Biddinger Michelle Biddinger 405 Points

Hey Lizzy,