Forums

Forums / Rural Teachers / Online Rural Teaching Questions

Rural Teachers

Online Rural Teaching Questions

Author Post
Grant Meth Grant Meth 410 Points

My name is Grant Meth and I am a preservice teacher at Wartburg College. I am a Physical education major with endorsements in 5-12 Science and Health. I am assuming that I will end up at a smaller school with the resume I am building. I have spoken with some other teachers who taught at rural, multiple county schools about what they had to do in remote learning. For example, he shared they had to take buses to all of the different towns with wifi hotspots for all of the students without internet access. 

I am just wondering what are some of the problems rural school districts have ran into with remote learning and the solutions that they have come up with for them? 

Hello Grant, 

Remote learning is the challenge as a result of this COVID-19 pandemic, and I believe it is a real problem for those students that live in rural areas. As you mentioned problems can be solved, for example, the each school had to start counting how many students had access to laptops or computers at home in order to get prepared and buy the necessary chrome laptops to install the different softwares needed to access school content. Each student that did not had one was to get one provided by the school. Different forms needed to be signed by parents and students are required to take well care of the laptops because those might be needed to be returned at the end of the school year. Also, access to internet is hard in rural areas, something that happened is that the rural area provided free internet spots and companies as Sprectrum in my area provided free internet for students.

Lauren Stafford Lauren Stafford 210 Points