Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Classroom Enviroment

New Teachers

Classroom Enviroment

Author Post
Allison Fletcher Allison Fletcher 388 Points

Hi my name is Allison. I'm studying to become a teacher for elementary. I always wanted to know what the perfect classroom seat arrangement was. Can someone please share what they think worked best for them and why?

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Allison--  

No one seating arrangement is 'perfect'—each has advantages and disadvantages, depending on the learning activities. If you use a variety of instructional strategies in your class, you’ll want to use a variety of seating arrangements. For example, students working in pairs, teams, or groups could push their desks or tables together. And there are times when students should work independently. 

Having flexible arrangements will accommodate these actdivities.  Some teachers may worry that changing the seating arrangements, particularly during a class period, is confusing and time-consuming and that students prefer a consistent arrangement.  In my experience, a seamless transition between activities doesn’t happen overnight. The teacher needs to communicate the reason for the change, establish norms for appropriate behaviors, and have the students practice these transitions. 

You'll have to review student individual education plans to determine any special seating requirements. Make sure seating arrangements can accommodate the visual, auditory, and physical needs of your students as well as any assistive technologies or devices they use. (One year my seating arrangements had to include space for a student’s service dog.) -- Mary B.

Nicole Stump Nicole Stump 1785 Points

Hello Allison!