Forums

Forums / New Teachers / First Day/Week of School

New Teachers

First Day/Week of School

Author Post
Mary Pod Mary Pod 20 Points

I am a first year science teacher (5th grade) and was looking for suggestions on how to begin the school year during the first days of science class. Other than discussing rules, expectations etc. I am looking to do some type of activity or simple experiment or something to get students minds engaged and interested in science. I was wondering if anyone had any good suggestions!? I was also thinking of discussing Lab Safety and was trying to figure out how to not make the topics so dry- I wondered if there were any activities as well that could go with that? Any suggestions are very much appreciated :)

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Mary! How exciting!!! Congratulations on the beginning of what I hope will be a thrilling year and career for you. There was another thread a while back with a similar request that had some excellent ideas. I have linked it to this thread for you:
First Day/Week ....
I think there is another one that might be helpful, too. I will try to find it and link it here for you.
Carolyn

Kathy Renfrew Kathy Renfrew 37148 Points

Mary,

Grade 5/6 is my area also. I love the age. I was thinking about how important 'science talk' is and thinking about how you could incorporate science norms into yor expectations? You want to develop classroom culture that allows for and encourages science discourse'

One resource for this is Chapter 5 of Ready, Set, Science , Making Thinking Visible:Talk and Argument. This book is available free at Ready, Set, Science. I am going to attach the chapter for you.

I also have a couple of thoughts about your first activity but I wanted to ask you what science unit are you beginning with?

Attachments

Mary Pod Mary Pod 20 Points