Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Float/Sink for Younger Grades

General Science and Teaching

Float/Sink for Younger Grades

Author Post
Joy Annell Cross Joy Annell Cross 550 Points

Hello! I am teaching a lesson on float/sink for my first grade class. I know that my students don't need to be able to explain why an object floats or sinks but I'm not sure how in depth I need to go. Should I stop at 'this floats, this sinks' and show them the objects in a tub of water or should I go farther and try to explain because it is lighter/heavier than water?

Thanks All!

Jade Selig Jade Selig 2155 Points

Hi Joy! 

I am a student at the University of Northern Iowa, something we discuss in a lot of our classes is explaining the 'why' to students.  I think it is important to explain to students why things sink or float, but that is something that you can simplify.  I would suggest refrain from using the phrase 'more dense' or 'less dense' I think students are going to grasp a better understanding of why things sink and float if they are given a little more information rather than 'because I said.'  Giving students something to think about can allow them to create their own educated guess of future objects.  For instance, you can give examples of objects which float and which sink and give an explaination (something simple) After, choose another object and allow them to choose if it would sink or float!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Great question! Try ngss.nsta.org and search for lessons that address this. What does your standard say about addressing floating or sinking? 

Jamison Bowlds Jamison Bowlds 1196 Points