Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / What do you do when NGSS gets the science wrong?

Next Generation Science Standards

What do you do when NGSS gets the science wrong?

Author Post
Tom Robertson Tom Robertson 20 Points

I was a scientist for about 20 years, but now work for a science education company.  I was shocked to find that NGSS contains quite few misconceptions and that led me here to ask what do teachers do when the standards get the science wrong? Probably the two most important biochemical processes on earth are photosynthesis and cell respiration, yet NGSS get these flat-out, 100% wrong. These are the statements in NGSS that are incorrect:

Cell Respiration:

NGSS DCI PS3.D 'The chemical reaction of these molecules with oxygen releases energy.' [by the end of grade 8]: 'Both the burning of fuel and cellular digestion in plants and animals involve chemical reactions with oxygen that release stored energy.'

NGSS DCI LS1.C. [by the end of grade 8]: ' In most animals and plants, oxygen reacts with carbon-containing molecules (sugars) to provide energy and produce carbon dioxide.'

NGSS DCI LS2.B. [by the end of grade 8]: 'for example, when molecules from food react with oxygen captured from the environment, the carbon dioxide and water thus produced'

Photosynthesis:

NGSS DCI PS3. D. 'By the end of grade 8. The chemical reaction by which plants produce complex food molecules (sugars) requires an energy input (i.e., from sunlight) to occur. In this reaction, carbon dioxide and water combine to form carbon-based organic molecules and release oxygen. '

How do you, as a teacher, tackle this problem – teach to the standard, or try to explain that the standard is incorrect and teach the science?

Thanks!

Tom

Matt Bobrowsky Matthew Bobrowsky 6410 Points

Hi, Tom.