Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Ideas for 2nd Grade science lessons

Elementary Science

Ideas for 2nd Grade science lessons

Author Post
Karen Mahoney Karen Mahoney 40 Points

Hi all! I am a student teacher in a 2nd grade classroom. I need to develop 3 lessons to explore a second grade curriculum topic. The existing curriculum already includes extensive units on trees, rocks and magnets. I do not want to duplicate the existing program so I am looking for other areas to explore in 2nd grade. I tend to gravitate towards the physical sciences, but I am open to other interesting hands-on, inquiry based projects. Any ideas? --Karen

Brittany Carpenter Brittany Carpenter 1875 Points

I think states of matter is always fun at this age. There are so many topics to explore within a states of matter unit that it's easy to expand to multiple lessons if needed. For instance, you could start by introducing the different states of matter, their properties, and examples of each. You could then go into how some things (ex. water) can go into all 3 states of matter. There are lots of hands on activities that students can do to explore the various states. Here is a blogpost I found with a lot of interesting ideas: http://shenanigansinsecond.blogspot.com/2013/04/as-matter-of-fact-new-unit.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+2ndGradeShenanigans+(2nd+Grade+Shenanigans)

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points