Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Natural Resources Lesson Plan (Student Teacher)

Earth and Space Science

Natural Resources Lesson Plan (Student Teacher)

Author Post
Megan Naquin Megan Naquin 515 Points

Hello, 

I am a student teacher at the University of Houston. For on of my assignments I have to create a 5E lesson plan for my placement classroom and teach it to them. The topic is going to be over natural resources. I believe I have a pretty strong lesson plan so far. I have talked to many people including my mentor techer about my ideas and eveyone seems to like it, however, I do have a few concerns and I figured the more advice the better. Here is the very basic run down of what I am planning on doing, (by the way this is fourth grade)

Engage: Open up a disucssion about Earth and see if it leads to a discussion about how Earth has an abudence of resources. 

Explore: Give each table of students a sort of natural resources. I will not give them any categories yet. I want them to tey and make cinnections on their own first. After they have had a few minutes to do this then I will give them the categories of renewable and nonrenewable resources and see if the students can sort the pictures into their categories. 

Explain: I will ask students what they believe a natural resources are and see if they know what renewable and onrenewable resources are. Then I will lead into a discussion where I have prepaired a powerpoint. I expect the students to be engaged in answering my questions and taking notes. After we have gone through the information I will give the students a finale attempt to make any corrections to their sort before giving them the answers.