Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Favorite Science Resources for Parents?

Early Childhood

Favorite Science Resources for Parents?

Author Post
Susan Raphael Susan Raphael 2415 Points

I am a pre-service teacher, but also a parent of a 6 year old and 3 year old twins. This summer, I am hoping to do lots of science experiments with my kids and our friends. Last year, we had science Fridays, but I always felt as if I was constantly searching for the right book, the right Web site, etc. What are your favorite resources for parents to use? Are there a couple must have books? Which topics should I be sure to cover? Thanks in Advance

Lauren Bonnet Lauren Bonnet 16070 Points

I enjoy using BrainPop which has different grade levels. The website explains the topic of science you researching and has a few activities and quizzes after the short movie plays. Also, local farms and gardens have events for children. Elioak Farms in the Columbia, MD area is a great place. Baltimore Child magazine is a great resource for discovering what is going on in the Baltimore area.

Evelyn Truong Evelyn Truong 4180 Points

A very interesting website to check out is http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/ . They have many science experiment ideas as well as products to buy to make these experiments. They also have available many teaching training workshops/meetings you can attend as well. They also have a YouTube channel called sick science where they show videos of many many types of cool science experiments.

Kelly Diaz 1150 Points

Steven Spangler is definitely a great resource. Not only does he provide the materials and video but also the explanation of the experiment. Every science unit is labeled and organized in a way for easy access. Pinterest can go a long way as well. Edutopia, and even disney website contain science experiments!

Marcelo Yunda Marcelo Yunda 500 Points