Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Science supplies

Elementary Science

Science supplies

Author Post
Briney Kerner Kerner Briney Kerner Kerner 4423 Points

Hello,

My name is Britney and I am currently a senior at Henderson State University.  I'm majoring in K-6 education.  I love science and I want to do all I can to engage my future students in it as well.  I was wondering if anyone has any ideas of go to supplies for science learning that they keep on hand?  Do you just get them as you need them?  

Hey Briney,

I am also an Elementary Education major and have been wondering the same thing about all the different supplies that I see in my mentors rooms. What I have found is that teachers have collected things over the years and that soem things are grade level specific. We just finished rocks and mineral in the class I am working with and the teacher has a collection of different rocks and minerals to show the kids as examples. She also has different soil samples for the soil unit we are on now. My suggestion would be to start collecting things that could be used in any grade like magnifing glasses, mearsuring tools, leveled books, etc. Then when you get a job for a specific grade do a deep dive into the different AKS's that you will be teaching and keep an eye out for different supplies you can use.

Best of luck in your education career!

-Christi Solsberry

Abrianna Moore Abrianna Moore 635 Points