Forums

Forums / STEM / STEM on a budget

STEM

STEM on a budget

Author Post
Darcie Pilon Darcie Pilon 490 Points

My name is Darcie Pilon and I am a third-year Elementary Education student at Wartburg College. In my recent field experience, kindergarten students were given the task of creating a home out of recyclable materials found around the common household. For instance, they used cardboard boxes, paper cups, rubberbands, plastic bottles, paper plates, and more. These are things that could be easily collected over a short period of time, some after initial use, thus saving some money.

The students seemed to really enjoy this activity and were sad to end it. I am curious what other lessons and activities can be done on a budget. Any examples or inspiration would be appreciated!

Ashley Aguilera Ashley Aguilera 305 Points

Hi Darcie, I think the use of technology in STEM would help to keep costs low after the initial money upfront to buy the device. There are so many simulations (like https://phet.colorado.edu/sims/html/forces-and-motion-basics/latest/forces-and-motion-basics_en.html) and labs that children could maniuplate and explore. Many programs have been created to help simulate high cost materials that are made possible for all students to use virtually. Engineering.com is another site that gives students the opportunity to be creative and come up with design ideas online. 

Maritza Lara Maritza Lara 440 Points

Darcie this sounds very fun and engaging for all ages! I truly think this is a unique activity that allows the child to find items at home to create their house and the fun part is that this activity can be turned into a family activity.