Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / Behavior and Classroom Management

Professional Learning

Behavior and Classroom Management

Author Post
Peter Boylan Peter Boylan 190 Points

I am currently a student teacher in a 3rd grade. I am having some difficulties with behavioral and classroom management. I know these skills take time and experience to develop. What are some strategies and/or methods that some people have seen work best? Do you find putting students in rows versus groups helps with this management? I would love to hear all responses. Thank you.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Peter,
I know that this is an issue shared by all of us in classrooms. There is a discussion thread on this topic entitled Classroom Management that might be worth your reading. It has several suggestions there. I know other teachers will share their strategies here as well.
I have been subbing in a fourth grade classroom for a little over a week now. I noticed that the classroom teacher had so many daily routines in place, that I hardly had to be there. The students knew exactly what to do and when! So one suggestion would be to establish certain classroom processes that take place each day. I think students want these schedules to help them stay organized and on task. She also had lots of different job assignments that get new persons assigned to them each week: line leaders, lunch and attendance count leader, group monitors (to pass out and collect papers for their table group), library book returner, etc. The students love being responsible for things. The teacher had little pouches on a bulletin board and on Monday of each week, new students were assigned for each job. The new names were placed in the pouches. Is your cooperating teacher preference to have children desks in any particular arrangement?
I hope this helps.
Carolyn

Kendra Young Kendra Young 17180 Points