Forums

Earth and Space Science

Meteorology

Author Post
Dorian Janney Dorian Janney 10505 Points

I am an eighth grade science teacher who is looking for online activities to use in my classroom. I have a suite of 10 notebooks which are internet-capable, but I generally have 28 to 32 students in class. To get my students started working together in small groups with these netbooks, I assigned each group a different city to collect weather-related data on. I selected eight cities across the Americas, as I had some nice laminated maps that focused on this section of the world. They collected four sets of data on such things as high temperature, low temperature, precipitation, sunrise and sunset times, and current weather conditions. Then they used other resources, including Googlemaps, to find out the cities' elevations, surface features, populations, and climate-related information. I also created a webquest using resources I found in the "Living in the Weather" SciGuide (http://learningcenter.nsta.org/my_learning_center/sciguides/guide_detail.aspx)Once they get a chance to use this webquest and I make sure that I work the kinks out of the system, I will share it. Do any middle school teachers have some other meteorology-related online activities that they would suggest?

Alyce Dalzell Alyce Dalzell 64075 Points

Hi Dorian,
What a busy and engaging classroom of scientists you must have! Thank you for sharing your instructional ideas.

I recently completed a meteorology unit with my middle school students. Their unit assessment included choosing a severe weather element and developing a powerpoint presentation. Students included links to videos and simulations that were recommended in the 'Living in the Weather' NSTA Sci Guide.

My students certainly became severe weather experts and enjoyed being the 'teacher' as they shared their knowledge while presenting their projects.

I'm looking forward to you sharing your webquest!
Enjoy your year, Alyce