Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Food Chains

Elementary Science

Food Chains

Author Post
Maria Elena Gonzalez Maria Elena Gonzalez 2300 Points

Does anyone have any great ideas on how to introduce food chains in a 3rd grade classroom?

Tarlyn Robinson Tarlyn Robinson 545 Points

I am currently a student at FIU where I am taking a science course as a required course. To engaging and introducing the students to learning about the food chain in my science class of teaching science on an elementary level, my professor began class by having each student as an animal on the food chain and have the students to scatter around the classroom to finding their food source. Being a college student, it allowed me to gain a better understanding of what I would eat and how to escape from what would eat me. This made a cooperative learning experience and allowed for the students to work together.

Guadalupe Soto Guadalupe Soto 1385 Points

There is a great brain pop video on food chains. There are also many books that can introduce food chains to the students. I think the best way to teach food chains though is to teach them in a way where they are actively engaged. For example, they can pretend to be parts of the food chain. Also get pictures of food chains that are in no particular order, and have the students put the food chain in the proper order.

Angel Chan Man-Wai Chan 2585 Points

Brain pop is my go to as well! Great to know that there is a video on food chains! I find it difficult to introduce food chains!

Heather Peacock Heather Peacock 1400 Points