Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Sink and Float: Kindergarten

Elementary Science

Sink and Float: Kindergarten

Author Post
Megan Sparkman Megan Sparkman 30 Points

Hello! I am a pre-service teacher, and I am gearing up for a lesson on sink and float, and making tin-foil boats! Can anyone share on this? 

Alfredo Uriegas Alfredo Uriegas 300 Points

Make different shapes made out of foil (sphere, triangle, square, etc,) and students can test if those sink or float. Then move on to making the boat and make them think and make predictions why the boat floats.

Zoe Fritz Zoe Fritz 620 Points

Hi Megan, I have done some research on different activities that you could do with your kindergarteners. One of the lessons had the students split up into groups and test different items to see if they would sink or float. In the link provided below it also mentions some activities that could be independent work and also activities you can do to extend the lesson. Here is the link:http://www.education.com/lesson-plan/sink-or-float/ This link has some great attachments that might be helpful to guide your students. Here is the link:file:///Users/zoe/Downloads/K-Float%20the%20Boat.pdf Another thing that might be helpful is to show them a video to start off the lesson. Here are a couple that I found that could introduce the lesson for you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dy0S1Pv0eOE AND https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQuW8G2QV_Q Hope this is helpful and that the lesson goes well!

Briyanna Alexander Briyanna Alexander 765 Points

I am a student teacher for first grade and we have done a sink and float activity. Duirng October we did the activity with pumpkins and we had the students guess whether the pumpkins would sink or float. We also had them estimate how many lines were on the pumpkin. The students really enjoyed being so hands on, which I have learned tends to keep them engaged.

Rebecca Brockman Rebecca Brockman 885 Points