Forums

Forums / STEM / Is STEM realistic?

STEM

Is STEM realistic?

Author Post
Tori Whitfield Tori Whitfield 180 Points

I have taken two STEM classes so far in college. I love the idea of STEM in the classroom, and I've even had some of my STEM curriculum published. However, I haven't tried a STEM lesson in a classroom setting with the pressures of standardized testing. Do you think that it works and that it is realistic? I just want to know if teachers today think that it is helpful and effective. Thanks!

Neena Paul Neena Paul 1335 Points

Considering STEM could be as simple as using a scale in measuring liquids during a science lesson, I think it could integrated pretty easily. I think the problem really comes in however when you look at the time allotted in the elementary curriculum (at least where I live) for science and STEM. There is a lot of time dedicated for math so STEM concepts I believe would be used more effectively their. Since, I am only a pre-service teacher, I have yet to have enough experience to share the practicality of it from my perspective. I have seen some teachers in their math lessons use engineering manipulatives (like legos) to demonstrate concepts with multiplication and other number operations. I think you bring up a good thought. Hopefully with some outside-the-box thinking, great STEM lessons can be used without the stress of standardized testing.

Flavio Mendez Flavio Mendez 52501 Points