Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / Why Must We Mentor New Teachers?

Professional Learning

Why Must We Mentor New Teachers?

Author Post
Maureen Stover Maureen Stover 41070 Points

Hi Adah, As a new teacher, I always appreciate it when a veteran teacher takes the time to help me. My school does have an official mentoring program that pairs new teachers with experienced teachers. In my opinion, the mentor teachers don't have a negative view of their mentoring duties (as a matter of fact, we have more teachers volunteering to mentor than we have new teachers) and veteran teachers who are not my assigned "mentor" are always willing to give me advice or to help me whenever I need it. I enjoyed reading Arlene's post about the new teacher training program that she's involved in. Training our new teachers is critical and by passing along our "corporate knowledge" of teaching, we help new teachers from "reinventing the wheel". Maureen

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Not just new teachers need mentors! When I was told I had to teach social studies one year (I practically flunked political science as an undergrad!), I wouldn't have made it without my colleague taking me under her wing. So 'new' can mean a veteran teacher taking on a new role/assignment. When we have to take on new assignments outside of our areas of expertise, our students benefit even more than we do when we are matched up with a colleague that has the experience and expertise in that field.
Arlene asked, 'What advice do you have for Mr. Nelson as a mentor to a new science teacher?' Sometimes it is difficult for experienced teachers to remember just how hard it was when they first started out. Arlene, I would tell our proverbial Mr. Nelson that he will have to teach Home Economics next year and ask him if he wants a mentor.