Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Science Not Really a Subject

Evaluation and Assessment

Science Not Really a Subject

Author Post
Natalie Prieto Natalie Prieto 2410 Points

I was in a classroom last year before I took my teaching science class this year. While I was there, I noticed that there was barely science being taught and the reason the teacher gave me was because there was no time. As an incoming teacher, I have always wondered what teachers should do in order to make sure that science is being taught in a classroom?

Alisa Kunhavijit Alisa Kunhavijit 2600 Points

I am currently in my student teaching phase and I have experienced the same issue. The students get a short time (it can vary) for science but they also have to split that with health. So most days the students have been doing health rather than science and the classroom lacks anything involving science. I feel science is constantly being pushed to the side and from my science methods course, my professor has taught me that we can incorporate science into other subjects. Science can be in math, reading/writing, and social studies (as another person had commented about). I will begin my teaching experience next fall and do I worry about this issue. I never valued science as much because my teachers never put a strong emphasis on it. I want to change that for my students and I think that each day, you should try to always dedicate time for science and if possible, think of ways to incorporate science into your other areas. For instance, if you are going to do a read aloud then a writing prompt. Read a science story book and have a fun and engaging science-based topic for them to respond to. By doing this, you can show students that science does not have to be just textbooks or experiments, there are many ways to learn about science.

Lauren Gray Lauren Gray 590 Points