Forums

Elementary Science

Planets

Author Post
Victoria Chanda Victoria Chanda 2280 Points

I am a student teacher and we were recently going over the planets. The resources we were instructed to use were 2012 documents. In the documents it stated that Pluto was the ninth planet from the sun. I thought Pluto was changed to a "dwarf planet". Has anyone else found this in science books that they use or was the document I used just faulty? Would the paper say that pluto is a planet so we don't confuse students more?

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

The New Horizons mission to Pluto and the discovery of more than one moon around Pluto helps the discussion to continue in the world of astronomy whether Pluto is a planet or not. The astronomers have debated back and forth since the discovery of Pluto and will probably go on for many more years. So you see papers pro and con on the subject. As for putting in a paper that Pluto is a planet in order to not confuse students, I doubt that is the real reason. Many things in science do not have a right or wrong answer, because many things in science are still under study and will stay that way until science advances enough to give a definitive answer.

Maureen Stover Maureen Stover 41070 Points

Hi Victoria,

What a great question! I know I've also heard some rumblings that the discovery of an additional satellite orbiting Pluto may bring it back into it's former status as a planet. Here's some information on Pluto, and it's dwarf planet status, that I found on the IAU Pluto page. There's some really interesting information on the history of Pluto and why the IAU reclassified Pluto as a dwarf planet. I've also attached a collection of NSTA resources that I found related to Pluto. I've taken the opportunity of Pluto's changing status to remind my kids of how dynamic the study of science is and how we are constantly learning new things through exploration and experimentation. Good luck with everything!

Maureen