Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Integrating Science and Physical Education

Elementary Science

Integrating Science and Physical Education

Author Post
Olivia Heidelmark Olivia Heidelmark 255 Points

Hello! I am currently a teacher candidate in my third year of University, and I was wondering has anyone thought to integrate science and physical education. In my program, we have learned how to integrate science and ELA, maths, and even art, but there's been no mention of physical education. What are your thoughts or experiences on that?   

Taylor Andollo Taylor Andollo 720 Points

I think that is a very good idea! I think that the integration of science and physical education can be done when having lessons on the body and possibly nutrition. There is an article on the NSTA website called 'Moving your body' I believe, where it provides activities for students to do that relate to the section that was just read. I have not had any experience in that case, but I do not see why it would be impossible!

Ashley Resendiz Ashley Resendiz 675 Points

I agree with you that there should be an integration of science and physical education. I have yet to see a something like that. I have read multiple articles before that states that students learn better in enviroments that are hands because of the corelations that they make. I have not yet seen both science and physical education but i feel that adding both will help students furthermore because not only will they learn but they will be able to asssociate how certain aspects of science can be interpreted with not only our daily lives but in the way that we move, excersice, and do other physical activity. We are walking science. 

Brooke Gray Brooke Gray 445 Points