Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / New teacher alert!! Lessons!

Early Childhood

New teacher alert!! Lessons!

Author Post
Rebecca Woods Rebecca Woods 180 Points

Hello, I am currently studying childhood education and will be interning in a couple semsters. With that being said, I will be teaching a few lessons and would like some advice when it comes to introducing science into the classroom. I was wondering if any of you have a favorite science lesson that was super successful and stress-free in the classroom? How do you keep the students engaged and have fun? Is there any suggestions for a cool experiment that will grab a fourth graders attention? 

Thank you in advance!

Alyssa Gaona Alyssa Gaona 790 Points

Hello Rebecca!

I am not replying because I have the advice to give but because I wanted to let you know I am in the same boat! 

I am also currently student teaching and figuring out the best way to integrate NGSS into my classroom! I am working on a lesson about magnets that will be taught in a combination of 2nd and 3rd graders. I will be creating stations for students to explore magnets and hoping that their inquiry will drive their interest in my lesson.

I hope that all goes well for you! 

Sophia Samaniego Sophia Samaniego 545 Points

Hey Rebecca,

One science topic that I love the most is photosynthesis, I know it sounds really complicated but it's not. I like to talk about the main parts of photosynthesis. The main game I like to play is giving a pair of students vocab words, and other pairs definiton, and students have 2 minutes to find their partners, and whoever wins, gets a candy or sticker

Priscilla Diaz Priscilla Diaz 915 Points