Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / The Rock Cycle

Earth and Space Science

The Rock Cycle

Author Post
Stefanie Thews Stefanie Thews 455 Points

Hello!  I am a student teacher and am making a lesson plan for the Rock Cycle.  I have a couple a resources for the lesson plan itself but, I am having trouble with the length of the lesson plan. I tend to make the lesson plan longer so the students have more time to explore and have opportunity for group discussion. This a 6th grade class and is only 45 min. How can I still have the hand-on activity within this period of time? Any suggestions?

Peggy Ashbrook Margaret Ashbrook 10953 Points

It would be helpful to know what the students already know about rock formation and earth science in general. If they have a basic understanding of rock formation then a hands-on activity identifying rock samples in a general way would reinforce their beginning understanding of the characteristics of sedimentary, metamorphic, or igneous rocks. The processes that form rock are more easily understood when looking at actual rocks.

Ambar Fernandez Ambar Fernandez 230 Points

Hello Stefanie! I feel that having a good understanding of what the students already know about rocks can be very helpful for you to estimate a time for your lesson plan. In a rock lesson we had, we had students looking at rocks and make a Ven diagram where they were asked to observe the rock and write its physical properties from each rock and then similarities. Students seemed to enjoy the activity because they felt like they were in a investigation since they were using magnifying glasses.

Lori Doria Lori Doria 210 Points

To help you with the length of the lesson plan, you can add a short interactive video to show to your students. You can bring out rock or make a slide show of the different kinds of rock. This will help your students who are visual or hands-on learners. 

Callie Bonds Callie Bonds 225 Points