Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Dependent/Independent/Controlled Variables

General Science and Teaching

Dependent/Independent/Controlled Variables

Author Post
Monica Holloway Monica Holloway 2990 Points

Hi!! I am a new science teacher and will be teaching the differences between independent, dependent and controlled variables. I have been unsuccessful in finding activities/games to use to help scholars (sixth grade) learn these definitions really well. I do have some experiments I will give to them for them to decide which variable it is, but other than that have been unable to find anything else. Any suggestions?

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Monica and welcome to the discussion forums! How exciting that you are teaching sixth graders!!! I love that age group. There are many resources in the Learning Center that are helpful. Let me share a few. I am sure others will chime in with their favorite activities for helping students understand variables.
Firstly, there is a discussion thread all about hypotheses that you might want to take a look at: General Science and Teaching > Hypothesis format.
Secondly, there is a SciGuide called Experimental Design What's great about the SciGuides is that there are gobs of great resources for the teacher divided up by grade level. So you will find much helpful information, lessons and activities on this topic there.
Finally, an article with a lesson plan about this topic using paper airplanes can be found at Tried and True: Taking flight with an inquiry approach
Good luck on your first year of teaching.
So teachers out there...what great activities are you using that teach variables?

Thank you so much for the great information!! I am in the process of reading through your recommendations!!