Forums

Forums / New Teachers / How to get your students engaged

New Teachers

How to get your students engaged

Author Post
Jazmin Lozano Jazmin Lozano 190 Points

I am not a teacher yet, I'm studying to be a bilingual educator for elementary, but I will be doing student teaching soon. So I was wondering if anybody has any advice on how I can keep the kids focused in their activities, and how to make them more engaged in classroom discussion?

Pamela Dupre Pam Dupre 92369 Points

Jazmin, I echo waht Ruth posted. Phenomenon is such a great way to engage students immediately and getting them to ask questions. This is a great site for anchor phenomena! https://www.ngssphenomena.com/

Alexis Martinez Alexis Martinez 320 Points

Hello Jazmin! My advice to you when it comes to keeping students engaged with a classroom discussion is to keep it open. Ask open-ended questions and give students time to answer and explain what they need to say. I would also recommend doing inquiry lessons and hands on activities. Most students work best when they feel involved and can touch something. Just remember to use visuals and give students a chance to take part in the discussion. You could give positive reinforcement to the students who are engaged and are doing well so the others get the idea of what behavior is expected. -Alexis Martinez

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Hello Jazmin,

There are a couple of ways to help kids focused on the activities you are doing. First, make the activity relevant to the student's life. Ask them open-ended questions to get them involved in the classroom discussion. Develop some engaging scenarios and ask them what they would do or how they would solve a particular problem.