Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Incorporating Literacy Strategies in Chemistry

Chemistry

Incorporating Literacy Strategies in Chemistry

Author Post
Marelis Rivera Marelis Rivera 2365 Points

I am a new chemistry teacher and I am looking for ways to increase literacy in my classroom. I am noticing that my students struggle with vocabulary, summarizing readings, making connections between text and visual concepts, etc. Does anyone have any suggestions for strategies I can use in the classroom?

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Marelis, There is a magazine article entitled, 'Chemistry as a Second Language' that may provide some good strategies for you to use. The examples included using visual tools,small group work, investigations, and directed vocabulary.
Also word walls may sound like an elementary idea, but it is another tool to use in any classroom to help strengthen vocabulary. I will attach an article about word walls. The author was teaching geology, but I think it applies a word wall in a way that can be used as a model for chemistry concepts as well. Best wishes for a fun and exciting chemistry year with your students! It would be great to have you share some strategies that you try and find useful.
Carolyn

Attachments

Adah, thank you for bringing that book to our attentions! I can't wait to go out and get it. (The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean). I am always looking for good science books to read for "pleasure". I looked up a book review about it after I read your post, and it says that the book is full of many awesome and disturbing facts - like how chemical warfare came to be. I am going to start a new thread under the general science discussion forum so that others can share some of their great science book finds. I think you should post this there as well! (Classical, Classy, or Corny Science Books- Reading for Pleasure Thread)

Jennifer Rahn Jennifer Rahn 67955 Points