Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Outdoor Learning

Elementary Science

Outdoor Learning

Author Post
Hannah Hetrick Hannah Hetrick 125 Points

Hi everyone!

I am a future elementary teacher and I'm looking into different ways to incorporate outdoor learning into the science classroom. Besides community/school gardens and nature hikes, do you have any neat ideas? Or even specific activities to do within the garden/on nature walks? If anyone has experience applying for/receiving grants for their outdoor education programs, I'd love to hear about that, too. 

Thank you!!

Hannah 

Emma Ammons Emma Ammons 635 Points

HI Hannah,

First of all, so excited to hear you thinking about incoperating lessons outside when possible. When it comes down to lessons, a lot will have to do with what type of lesson you are covering and with what age group. For example, if you are learning about the water cycle, maybe you could go to the stream and have students looks for water trails and talk about how rain falls to the ground, creates run off, goes to the stream and eventually evaporates or makes it way to a larger body of water. Another great way is to just take note books, or books outside and enjoy the fresh air for a lesson. For animal interactions you could go somewhere and have students observe the animals they see, where they live, noises they make, etc. Hope some of that is helpful. Good luck with your students! 

- Emma Ammons ([email protected])

Emma Huisman Emma Huisman 750 Points

Hi Hannah,