Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / How to handle student's questions?

Elementary Science

How to handle student's questions?

Author Post
Brittany Carpenter Brittany Carpenter 1875 Points

Hello all, I'm a future teacher, and one of the biggest struggles I think I will face as a teacher is how to handle student's questions. Although I have recently developed an interest in science, it is certainly not one of my strongest subjects! I am thankful for all of the resources available to me through the NSTA Learning Center as I feel they will help with my professional development. However, I am curious to know if there are any other teachers out there that also struggle with science concepts. If so, what's the best way to handle students that ask questions you may not know the answers to? I appreciate any insight and experience you can provide!

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Hello Brittany- First, do not feel that you can't tell your students that you do not know. Having a question that you and your class can explore together is a great way to learn. Also - are you in a state that has already adopted the NGSS? Teachers are needing to take on more of a coaching role - helping students tap into resources and guiding their inquiry rather than being the "sage on the stage". Being the content "expert" is not what you should expect to be - especially with the exponentially increasing knowledge base that makes up science today.

David Robinson David Robinson 2110 Points