Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Time Management

Elementary Science

Time Management

Author Post
Kimberly Grossman Kimberly Grossman 1050 Points

As a student intern I am realizing how difficult it is to teach all that I plan to teach. I want to be better at time management. I realized this when I taught a lesson on friction. We did an experiment using three ramps with different surfaces. We used the same item, and let them roll down the ramps at the same time. The students were really engaged which was great! I didn't want to rush it. Students were asking so many "What if" questions. They were talking about science so I didn't want to ignore comments. They were not talking about friction though. I tried to bring it up during the experiment. We even discussed the definition before the experiment. Most of them knew it. After the experiment students sat at their seats, and we were going to have a class discussion on the friction we saw. However, there wasn't enough time. I am afraid we did a really good experiment that made students really engaged but only discussed friction a little bit after it. The students walked away knowing the definition of friction, but I am not sure if they knew how to connect friction to the example they saw. How do you manage time so that students can actively learn and reflectively discuss science content in the same lesson?

Kendra Young Kendra Young 17180 Points