Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Classroom Management

New Teachers

Classroom Management

Author Post
Victoria Donaldson Victoria Donaldson 2235 Points

What are some ideas teachers use to keep the classroom management in order during hands on science activities?

Kiren Ahmed Kiren Ahmed 4850 Points

Hello, I have found especially with my kindergarten students to work as a whole group setting. Also we go over the expectations prior to the experiment as well as during the lesson. We recently did an experiment with pudding for the senses. The students sat in a circle, each students had their own cup. But what we did was one step at a time and this allowed us to make sure that everyone was with the group. I really find whole group settings helpful and much more interactive with my students. I think it really depends on your class and the atmosphere.

Stanethia Miller Stanethia Miller 1040 Points

I am a preservice teacher in my Science Methods. We're learning to have students work in small groups that tend to be heterogeneous and each student is assigned a role. We use Getter, Recorder, Reporter, and Consultant. The getter gets all learning materials, keeps them organized, and returns them to the proper place. The recorder is responsible for recording any data or information and ensures each member of the group has their science notebooks completed. The reporter reports any and all findings for the group. The consultant is the only student who communicates questions for the group to the teacher. I hope this helps! Even if you choose your own roles, it really helps them stay organized and on task!

Elaine Thomas Elaine Thomas 1525 Points

I used to teach science to elementary school children after school. One of the things I had work was to have smaller groups and always have a role for each of the students, making sure that everyone is responsible for something was a great way to have them focused and motivated to work together in their small groups.